I’m Back!!

Hey guys,

Been a while, hey? Didn’t think I was ever coming back, did ya? Well, truthfully, I wasn’t entirely convinced myself. Let’s just say life has been a little bit overwhelming. Culinary school was insane – so much fun, but a lot of hard work, and grueling hours that left me with little more time than what would provide me a decent rest and some space to attempt to clear my head – often proving otherwise.

The last few months have been filled with wonderful surprises, and great opportunity for personal growth. Let me fill you in:

First and foremost, I’ve graduated from Culinary school, and am the proud holder of not one but TWO hard-earned diplomas in Baking & Pastry and Culinary Arts. I had the pleasure of presenting the valedictorian speech after my first semester, and became the triumphant winner of the “Award of Excellence” at my final graduation. I couldn’t be more proud of these accomplishments.

Second, and most surprisingly, I’ve made the move from Vancouver to Toronto after years of stubbornly announcing to my friends and family that I would be remaining indefinitely out west. I had everyone convinced, including myself, until I finally sat down one day and thought, “wow, I miss my friends and family back home, a lot”. That’s when I decided, well, maybe Toronto’s not so bad after all. Now that I’m done school and am on the track to figuring out what the next step is, it seems like a good idea to explore my opportunities back home, where rent is free (thanks mom and dad!) and the opportunities in the culinary industry are bountiful.

Despite having basically neglected any form of preparation, I ran a number of races this past year, the most remarkable being my very first half-marathon – The BMO Vancouver Half-Marathon, that is! What an exhilarating feeling it is to cross that finish line, in just over 2 hours. What a buzz! It’s worn off a little since then, though, so I’m aiming to reboot my adrenaline a second time this coming Fall at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon (October 14). Training is in full-force, so look forward to hearing a little bit more about that.

Last, but far from least, I’ve been keeping busy these last few months organizing small functions with my sister/sous chef Sara for our “Two Peas in a Pod” catering business. We’ve been baking personalized cakes, preparing dessert platters, hosting secret supper clubs, and catering for events, including barbeques and birthday parties. Check out these photo’s from a couple recent events..

Our First Secret Supper Club:

Duo of Soups: Ontario Corn and Sweet Pea

Stratford Chevre & Beet Ravioli

Green Gate Farms Wine Braised Ribs

Anniversary Brunch:

Assorted Cookie Platter

Swiss Zuger Kirschtorte

Burger Bar:

Ice-Cream Sandwiches

Until next time (hopefully sooner than later!),
Enjoy the photos!

