ALERT! NEW POST!

I’ve finally regained access to the internet since moving into my new place 2 weeks ago! Woo hoo! So, for my first post of several weeks, I thought I’d try to make it a pretty good one. So, naturally, this is a recipe post with a couple glorious photos. For those of you who are interested in the other side of things (the “dash” of Dash and Devour), I will give you an equally glorious update as my next post.

As for today, how about a recap of the dinner, dessert and breakfast that I made for my friend and I last Friday/Saturday for our super duper slumber party? 😀 We ate some yummy food and I made it all from scratch, of course! It’s the first “Feast Night” I’ve done in a while, because I haven’t had access to my own kitchen in SO long! Anyways, it was a wonderful success and this is what we had:

Dinner was Rice Flour Gnocchi with Pumpkin Seed Pesto, Tomatoes and Broccolini.

Pumpkin Seed Pesto

1 large bunch fresh basil
2 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper to taste
pinch ground cumin
3/4 cup soaked pumpkin seeds*
2 heaping tablespoons pine nuts
juice of half a lemon
1/3 cup olive oil or grape seed oil

*soak raw pumpkin seeds in the refrigerator overnight, in a Tupperware container with a lid, using filtered water.

Directions:
In a food processor, pulse the basil with the garlic, salt, pepper and cumin until chopped finely. Add the pumpkin seeds, pine nuts and lemon juice. Process until everything is evenly and finely minced and mixed. Slowly stream in the olive oil until desired consistency is reached (add more or less to adjust the thickness of the pesto).

Store: in the freezer (in serving-size portions). Remove from freezer and defrost in the refrigerator when ready to use.

Serve: For 2 servings, mix approximately 1/4 cup of the pesto with freshly boiled gnocchi (home made – see here and here for recipes – or store bought) with baby tomatoes and lightly steamed broccolini. Garnish with chopped basil and toasted pumpkin seeds!

We snacked on some tasty Buttermilk Crackers, of which I made at and brought home from school last week. They are darn good, and terribly addicting!

For dessert, I made (at school) a lovely, fluffy Chiffon Cake. I whipped up some fresh, luscious cream, and dolloped a large lump of it right on top with a few juicy market strawberries. Yum yum in my TUM! Seriously, Strawberry Shortcake is the BEST!

For breakfast on Saturday morning, I created something that I’d never actually done before – Breakfast Quinoa – and boy am I glad I decided to give it a go.. it’s definitely a winner!

Coconut Milk Breakfast Quinoa

Serves 2

Ingredients:
1/2 cup coconut milk
3/4 cup plus 3/4 cup water
1/2 cup quinoa
pinch salt
1-2 tsp lemon zest
2 tsp agave nectar
1 Tbsp black sesame seeds
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp toasted pumpkin seeds
fresh berries
yogurt*

*I prefer a nice, think Greek-style yogurt, but any kind or flavor would be delicious!

Directions:
Bring the coconut and 3/4 cup of water to a boil in a saucepan over the stove. Add the quinoa and simmer for about 25-30 minutes. After about 15 minutes, add the salt, zest, cinnamon and vanilla, then begin gradually incorporating the remaining water, about 1/4 cup at a time, allowing it to absorb into the quinoa with each addition. Stir in the sesame seeds and agave nectar at the end.

Serve: Topped with berries, yogurt, toasted pumpkin seeds, and garnished with a cherry. Voila!

I’m going to try REALLY hard to make my next post within a week. So, keep your fingers crossed that my life doesn’t get too hectic for a couple of days!

