Sunday Brunch: Individual Potato & Egg Brekky Bakes

I like my breakfasts quick, simple, delicious and nutritious. I don’t like to fuss all morning preparing a meal, only to end up mindlessly inhaling what I’ve so strenuously poured all of my efforts into, due to the fact that, by the time it’s ready, my stomach is eating itself. That’s not really my style. SO, when I do decide to step it up a notch from my typical bowl of cereal or muffin and fruit salad, I choose my breakfast recipes very carefully. I like to do as much prep the night before in order to keep it quick in the morning. 45 minutes tops in the AM, or it’s just too painful.

This recipe is somewhat of an inspired version of this one, which I’ve made before and really enjoyed. I kind of did my own thing with the mashed potatoes, and you could easily make this up using any mash – leftovers from the night before would be brilliant! You could easily change up the herbs, add some veggies (maybe broccoli, asparagus, or even sauteed mushrooms). There are numerous variations to think up, and it’s a fantastic recipe to be experimental and creative with.

Individual Potato & Egg Brekky Bakes

Serves 4

Ingredients:
1 1/2 lbs baby potatoes
1 lrg shallot
2 tsp olive oil
3/4 cup + 4 Tbsp heavy cream
1 sprig thyme
1 sprig rosemary
1 dried bay leaf
salt and pepper, to taste
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
4 lrg eggs
1/2 cup fresh grated asiago cheese
paprika
2 scallion greens, thinly sliced

Directions:
Prepare the mash the evening before. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Drop the potatoes in and cook for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil over medium heat in a small saucepan. Add the shallot and saute about 5 minutes.

Add 3/4 cup of cream and let it come to a low boil.

Add the thyme, rosemary and bay leaf. Cover with a lid and let steep for 10 minutes.

Carefully remove the herbs from the cream mixture.

In a large bowl, mash the boiled, strained potatoes. Add the warm cream, salt, pepper and butter. Mix well to combine.

Divide mash between 4 individual ramekins.

Let cool to room temperature, then cover with cling wrap and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Remove ramekins from refrigerator and place into deep casserole dish. Carefully crack one egg on top of each mash-filled ramekin. Top each off with a tablespoon of cream and 2 tablespoons of cheese. Fill the casserole dish with 1-2 inches of boiling water.

Bake in preheated oven for about 30 minutes, until the eggs are set and the cheese has very slightly browned. (the next two photos were taken only part-way through the cooking process – they still had another 10 or 15 minutes left of bake time)

Garnish each bake with a pinch of paprika and sliced scallion greens.

I served ours, this morning, along side cute little tea-cups full of fresh berries!

They turned out fabulously – luxuriously smooth, delicate and simple.

If you cook it just right, the yolk should burst when you dig your fork in and ooze up and over the whole thing, enveloping it in a creamy, delicious bright yellow molten. Yum!

