Banana Bread French Toast!

Mmmm… Breakfast yesterday morning was UHmazing. French toast might be my new favourite thing. Especially when it’s made with banana bread!

I got the idea for this dish at a restaurant in Victoria, called Willies Bakery & Cafe – it’s the oldest bakery in BC! There, they serve a fantastic, decadent version of the french toast that I made yesterday. They make a killer pecan banana loaf that they turn into a luscious french toast topped with a maple cream cheese sauce. Yummmm – so you can see why I wanted to try to remake it, so that I can enjoy it at home whenever I wish!

My version is slightly different – I baked up a loaf of Cascadia Bakery’s Banana Walnut Loaf from the Rebar Modern Food Cookbook. I also coated mine in rolled oats, before grilling them in the skillet. I then topped them off with lemon yogurt, chopped strawberries and a light drizzle of maple syrup!

I used the Liberte Mediterranee Lemon Yogurt. Seriously – Best. Yogurt. Ever. I will never buy another brand again. It’s so rich and creamy and DElicious. I haven’t even tried any of the other flavors, but I honestly don’t think I need to, because the lemon one is so divine and perfect. It just makes me happy.

Anyways, here’s the recipe:

Banana Bread French Toast

Makes 4 Servings

Ingredients:
4 thick slices of your favourite banana loaf (home made or store bought)
2 large eggs
2-3 Tbsp milk (I used almond, but whatever you have will work)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup rolled oats
Plain or flavored yogurt, for topping
Fresh fruit, chopped, for topping
Maple Syrup, for topping

Directions:
In a wide, shallow dish (i.e. a pie or cake pan), whisk together the eggs, milk, cinnamon, and vanilla. Fill a second wide, shallow dish, with the rolled oats. Place a large skillet on the stove top over medium heat.

Working with one slice of banana bread at a time, dredge each in the egg mixture for a few seconds on each side. Then transfer to the second pan and coat both sides with oats.

Spray skillet with vegetable oil or melt about 1-2 Tbsp of butter in the skillet. Grill the coated banana bread for about 4-5 minutes on each side, until golden brown.

Remove from skillet and serve with a big dollop of yogurt, some chopped fresh fruit and a drizzle of maple syrup!

