Taking it Easy

I’ve decided to take an entirely different approach to my training this time around. Rather than throwing myself into it full-throttle, I’ve been, instead, just kind of going with the flow. I don’t have the energy or motivation to really give it my all, and I’ve realized that my goal is simple and doesn’t require as much hard work as I originally thought. I’m not getting out there to win the race, or beat a specific time. I simply just want to run and finish a half-marathon, feeling good and exhilarated.

So, I’ve been sticking to my “normal” running schedule – 3 or 4 mile runs, 3 to 4 times a week. I’ll probably throw a couple longer runs into the loop in the next couple weeks – maybe a 6-miler and an 8-miler (I’ve only got less than 5 weeks before the Scotia Bank Half-Marathon). I’m also doing some minor weight training – mostly just to work my arms, and some ab work. Thus far, things are going well.

I hopped on the treadmill this morning for the first time in a couple months – it was a little strange, but a nice change. I’ve been running only outdoors since the weather got a little warmer back in Victoria. I’ve continued training outdoors since being back here in Toronto. The weather is perfect right now – not too hot, but not too cool – and there is a lovely little walking path, just a few blocks from my parent’s house. It winds along a beautiful river and is a nice flat, cement trail. So, there really is no reason to stay indoors.

Why would I want to, when I can choose, instead, to be surrounded by this?! I’ve come to realize that, for some reason, I feel a greater sense of accomplishment at the end of a good run outside. It just feels more complete and fulfilling.

Anyways, I’m feeling really good about how everything is going. I’m at my happiest and healthiest when I keep things simple, and I think that just doing my regular routine is perfect for me in that sense. I don’t feel any pressure, because I have no expectations. And I can focus on other, more important aspects of my life while I’m home for my short visit – like my friends and family.. and food, obviously. Speaking of food, tomorrow for breakfast, my sister and I are making Banana Bread French Toast, and you can bet there will be a phenomenal blog post to show that precious creation off! 😀

