Chocolate Chip Cookies

Tonight I’ll be celebrating Easter with my cafe coworkers. We’re having a staff potluck dinner in honor of the holiday! I, of course, offered to bring cookies. I’ve been dying to make a batch of these ones for a while now, so it was a great excuse to double the yield. I came across this recipe a couple of years ago on everdaydish.tv, made a batch, then another, and another. They quickly became my favourite go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe. These super easy, tasty, dairy-free, and egg-free homestyle treats are a concoction of vegan chef Dreena Burton. I own one of her cookbooks, Eat, Drink and Be Vegan, which I’ve put to good use on many occasions, and from which a number of recipes have become staples in my kitchen.

You’ll take one bite and I can guarantee you’ll be thinking, “vegan, really? Wow, I’d never have guessed!”

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (recipe from Dreena Burton’s cookbook, Vive Le Vegan)

makes 12 cookies (or 6 jumbo cookies)

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp molasses
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare cookie sheet by lining it with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt. In a separate, medium bowl, whisk together molasses, maple syrup, canola oil, and vanilla. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until almost combined. Add chocolate chips and fold in until chocolate chips are evenly distributed.

Scoop heaping tablespoons of the cookie dough, roll into balls, and place onto parchment-lined baking sheet, or if you’d prefer jumbo cookies (as I always do), scoop the cookie dough using a quarter cup measure.

Press each cookie ball down to flatten. Make sure to leave 1-2 inches spacing between the cookies – they will spread out a little as they bake.

Bake for 11-14 minutes, until golden brown just around the edges.

And there you have it, delicious chocolate chip cookies!

PS: 6 sleeps until the run! Which means, my mom and sister will be here in 5!! Unfortunately, that also means that I’ll be leaving Victoria in less than 2 weeks… I’m not so stoked about that. But, we’re going to focus on the positive. So, yay, 6 sleeps!

