Back At It

I went for a run yesterday! Yay! I’m back on iron supplements and watching my diet very carefully to make sure that I’m eating enough iron, protein and healthy fats, in order to get my energy levels back up. The last couple days, I’ve been feeling a lot better. My cold is pretty much kaput, thankfully. So, when I woke up yesterday morning not, for once, feeling stuffy and achy and exhausted, and then saw that the sun was shining bright, I said to myself, “today I am going for a run!”

And so I did. And let me tell you, it felt incredibly good. I only ran maybe 2.5 miles, but it was so refreshing and my body seemed to be easily up for the challenge. What a relief to finally have my main source of stress-relief back!

I’m going to go for 3 miles today. The sun is shining again, and I’m feeling almost fully recovered, so I’m looking forward to getting out there! I’ve got a week to prep for the 8K, and I was freaking out until yesterday, but I’m feeling quite confident now! I do have quite the busy couple of weeks ahead of me, though, with packing and work and settling everything that needs to get done before I leave. So, I am still freaking out just a little bit about those things.

The apartment is nearly all packed up, and it’s making me feel quite blue. My roommate left two days ago, and it’s lonely coming home to an empty place at the end of the day. I’ve got to buck up and finish stuffing boxes this afternoon, though, because today is my last day off work before I leave for Vancouver on the 29th. My mom and sister will be arriving next Saturday to run the BMO 8K with me on Sunday. We’ll be back in Victoria for a couple days, but we plan on keeping pretty busy before the movers come to take everything to storage on the 6th of May! So, I’ve got to get a move on! Ugh, It’s all happening so fast!!

I do have some good news to announce, however…

I’ve signed up for a different half-marathon, later in the summer! There was no way I was going to be ready to run the originally planned BMO Vancouver Half Marathon on May 1st, but I found out that there is another one on June 26th in Vancouver. That leaves me with another 2 months to prep, so I’m going to get right back at it, now that I’m healthy again! The Scotiabank Vancouver Half Marathon goes from UBC campus to Stanley Park. It’s a gorgeous waterfront course and I’m really excited about it!

I’ll be running in support of the Alzheimer’s Society of BC. If you’d like to make a donation, please follow the link to my personal fundraising page here.

Anyways, look forward to Monday’s post: I’m baking cookies to bring to my work Easter potluck! 🙂

