Vegan Banana Muffins

Yum! Muffins, muffins, muffins, I just can’t get enough of ’em! What a pleasant morning treat, or afternoon snack! With an endless number of flavor possibilities, muffins are wonderful and marvelous and so exciting to make!

I’m kind of feeling down right now, having still been unable to get back to my training for a week now. I’m stressing a little bit because I’ve only got three weeks left to prepare for my big day!! Ugh, and with this setback, I’m going to need to work super extra hard to feel ready. But, my body has been utterly exhausted, stuffy, achy and feeling just plain awful. I HATE being sick. It sucks the life out of me. However, I woke up this morning feeling quite a bit better. I probably could go for a run today, but I’ve got a long day of work and I think it’s best I don’t rush things. Tomorrow I’m definitely going to make a trip to the gym, though. I plan on easing back into the groove with a quick 30-minute tempo run and a bit of strength training. I’m very much looking forward to it, actually! Even though I haven’t been feeling physically capable of exerting much energy, I’ve been going mental with the lack of exercise!

Speaking of getting back into the groove of things, yesterday I FINALLY stepped back into the kitchen! And, oh man, did it ever feel good! I made szechuan stir-fry on brown rice with green veggies, tofu and cashew nuts for dinner! It was darn good, if I do say so myself. And while I was waiting for the rice to cook, I whipped up a batch of Vegan Banana Muffins, the recipe of which I adapted from one that my mom has been using since forever. Mine is a much healthier version that contains no eggs or dairy!

Vegan Banana Muffins

makes 8 large muffins

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 medium ripe bananas
3 Tbsp flax eggs (recipe below*)
1/4 cup non-dairy milk (soy, rice, almond, etc)
3 Tbsp maple syrup, agave nectar or honey
OPT: chocolate chips, nuts or dried fruit

Topping:
1 tsp cinnamon, mixed with with 2 tsp turbinado sugar
sliced banana

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 8 cups of a muffin tin.
Combine the flours, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Set aside. In a medium bowl, mash mananas. Add the flax eggs, milk, and agave nectar and mix well. Add the wet to the dry (with optional chocolate chips) and mix until just combined. Do not over-mix. Fill the muffin tins with the batter and top each with one slice of banana and a sprinkling of the cinnamon sugar. Bake 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

*To make the Flax Eggs:
In a high speed blender, food processor, or magic bullet, blend 1/3 cup whole flax seeds and 1 cup water until flax seeds are completely broken down and the mixture has formed a thick, smoothie-like texture. This stuff is phenomenal. You can use it to replace eggs in most baking recipes and it turns out really well. I also love to add it to smoothies as a nutritious thickening agent.

