Double Digits!

Today I ran my very first 10-mile long run. Ever. I’ve been slowly building up my distance so that I am ready for the half-marathon (13.1 miles) that I’ll be running on May 1st. Last weekend I ran a pretty rough 9-miles, but today’s long run was phenomenal. I felt so energetic. I was focused and determined, but at the same time I paced myself so that I didn’t overdue it. It was a beautiful morning. The temperature was perfect and the wind was minimal. I ran all along the waterfront, crossed over the bridge from downtown into Vic West briefly, then headed back up into my neighborhood, Fernwood. I really really enjoyed the route a lot.

I completed the run in just under an hour and a half! Which means that my pace has improved quite a bit! Yay! I’m so proud of my progress. 🙂 I’ve been working hard, and it’s been tough at times, but knowing that it’s really paying off gets me super pumped up!

Breakfast this morning was a giant banana-hazelnut spelt flour muffin, organic vanilla yogurt and half a fresh juicy mango! Om nom! I downed a large pot of blueberry green tea, let my tummy settle for about an hour, then headed out for my run.


Post-run, I chugged a gigantic bottle of cold water (with a hefty scoop of vega protein powder mixed in) for quick recovery fuel, stretched, then took a refreshing shower. Lunch was a DE-liscious open-faced sandwich.

The other day I baked a big luscious loaf of Irish Brown Bread, the recipe of which you can find here.

Ever since I made it, I’ve been obsessed with making open-faced sandwiches with a thick slice of the bread and various delectable toppings. Today I slathered it with a dollop of dijon mustard, a thick layer of creamy avocado, a small handful of sliced cherry tomatoes, a sprinkle of sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper and topped it off with a nice stack of bright green baby spinach. It was SO yummy!




On the side, I munched on a chopped up carrot, and finished the meal off with an Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookie.. with a crisp glass of milk, of course!

Now, I’m all refueled and ready for the rest of my afternoon to begin! I’m feeling particularly anxious to be productive today, so maybe I’ll do some cleaning or something..? Ew, I hate cleaning. But our apartment desperately needs it.

Dinner tonight – Mac and Cheese from the Vegetarian Student Cookbook. Mmmm, it’s been too long since I last had some good homemade mac! After dinner, I’m going for dessert and drinks at The Mint downtown. I haven’t been yet, but I’ve heard great things, so I’m uber excited!

Anyways, happy Saturday to you all! Have a fab weekend!

