Feast Night

Last night was Feast Night!! It’s something I try to do on a weekly basis. Usually I cook an at-least-three-course meal and, typically, I make a starter of some sort, then a main dish, and finish it all off with a decadent dessert. It’s my opportunity to try out some new, exciting recipes, with interesting ingredients, or that require a little bit more preparation time. I go all out for these things. Most of the time I spend almost the entire day putting everything together. I look forward to it all week long, and am on to planning the next one as soon as it’s over.

Last nights candle-lit feast was a spectacular success. I tried out three delicious new recipes that I hadn’t made before. Two of them come from Sophie Dahl’s cookbook, Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights. This girl is my idol. Seriously. She has a show on the food network, Delicious Miss Dahl, and she is the most adorable, lovely person EVER. I want to be her. Go watch her show here.

From Miss Dahl’s cookbook, I made the main and the dessert for last night’s feast. For the started, I followed a recipe for a very simple, traditional Asparagus Soup from another cookbook called Vegie Food.

After the starter, I served Miss Dahl’s Turmeric Tofu with Cherry Tomatoe Quinoa Pilaf.

The pilaf was just a simple mix of cooked quinoa (my favourite grain! If you have yet to try it out, do it! It’s delicious and so versatile!), cherry tomatoes, scallions, olive oil and herbs. It was dressed in a very simple dressing made of  yogurt, lemon juice & zest, and cracked black pepper. It was fresh, easy, and full of flavour and nutrition. Yum!

Dessert was also super-duper simple. Baked Apples. All it took was a few simple ingredients, some very quick prep, and 45 minutes in the oven. It came out bubbling, juicy and oh-so yummy in my tummy.

The filling: butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, walnut pieces and raisins.

I topped them off with a dollop of organic vanilla yogurt and voila, dessert was served!

My belly was so satisfied. I can’t wait to get started planning next week’s menu! 😀 In fact, It’s my roommates birthday next Tuesday, so I’ll be preparing something EXTRA special for that! I won’t reveal what I’ve got planned until after the big day, though, because it’s going to be a surprise! All I can say for now is that it will be epic, probably four courses, and the last one will definitely be homemade birthday cake. Woohoo!

