Half Way & a Recipe for Savory Scones

So, it’s the beginning of week five of my training regime for the BMO Vancouer half-marathon on May 1st. That means I’m half-way done, and only half-way to go until the big day! Woohoo! The greatest part about my progress is that I’m still going strong! I ran 9-miles yesterday – struggled a bit at parts, but pushed myself to keep going and was able to finish strong. My pace was a bit slower than when I ran my 8-miler. I think I’ll attribute that to having had a pretty busy weekend, probably not enough sleep, and perhaps not having eaten enough carbs the day before as pre-fuel. I was ravenously hungry yesterday evening (post-run), so I think I need to pay more attention to making sure to eat enough and fuel my body properly on the days leading up to my long runs – less junk and empty calories, more nutrient-dense goodness.

That being said, I feel great about my progress. I’ve picked up quite a bit of speed on my shorter runs and feel stronger than ever during my speed work training on the treadmill. I’m feeling focused, determined, excited and a bit nervous, all at the same time. The next few weeks are going to be getting progressively more difficult, so I need to make sure I’m really paying attention to ensuring I’m fueling my body properly and sufficiently, to getting a good, solid, restful 7-8 hours of sleep on a regular basis, and to not over doing it when I feel like I need to take it easy. So, that essentially just means that I need to really listen to my body and simply do as it’s telling me.

Now, on to the fun stuff. I whipped up a batch of savory scones the other day – I was attempting to create my own recipe for zucchini-cornbread, but the batter turned out a lot more dry than I had planned – like scone or biscuit dough. I didn’t want to add more liquid and risk over-mixing it, so I stuck with what I’d made and it turned out quite nice!

Savory Spelt & Cornmeal Zucchini Scones

Makes 8 large scones

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups spelt flour
1 cup cornmeal
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup veg oil
2 Tbsp honey
1 egg
1 cup shredded zucchini (or a combo of zucchini & carrot)
1/4 cup pine nuts (optional)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt. In a separate, medium-sized bowl, lightly beat together the buttermilk, oil, honey and egg. Add wet to dry and mix until almost completely combined. Add shredded veggies and nuts (if desired) and fold in until just combined. Do not over mix the dough. Place large dollops on parchment-lined baking sheet and bake in preheated oven for approximately 20 to 25 minutes (until lightly browned on top and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean). Enjoy hot from the oven, slathered with luscious, melty butter and a big bowl of yummy, hot soup!

