Burrito’s!

Last night’s dinner was concocted using a recipe from the Rebar Modern Food Cookbook. I made the Bhangra Burrito’s with Chickpea-Potato Curry & Spinach. Mmmmmmmmm is all I have to say about that.

Rebar is a vegetarian restaurant here in Victoria, and it’s one of my all time faves! I have way too many cookbooks, so I’ve only tried a couple of the recipes from this one. They’ve all been super tasty thus far, though, and all of the sweets recipes come from a local bakery here in Victoria that Rebar is teamed up with, called Cascadia. They make THE best focaccia bread I’ve ever eaten and the recipe is in the book! That’s definitely next on my list of recipe’s to try out! (But, on my lord is that ever a long list!)

Anyways, I followed the recipe for the burritos almost exactly. The only minor changes that I made were adding some white cheddar cheese on top and serving them with homemade rosemary tomato sauce. The original recipe is vegan and suggests serving them with chutney. Although I’m sure that would be delicious, I thought the way I made them turned out really well!

The filling starts with a simple tomato, garlic, ginger and jalapeno mixture, cooked over the stove with chickpeas, caramelized onions, and some tasty spices for flavouring – cumin, coriander, paprika, turmeric and seasoning.

Next, I added a handful of chopped cilantro (one of my very favourite fresh herbs) and some roasted cubed red potatoes! That completed the filling – how simple and wonderful!

I assembled the filling on top of a bed of baby spinach, all wrapped up in wholesome whole grain tortilla’s…

Then, I placed them in a lightly greased pan, making sure to top them with a healthy helping of cheese first! Yum in my tum! 30 minutes later, they exited the oven looking like this (and smelling UHmazing!)…

Our tummies were rumbling, so I quickly topped them each with a big spoonful of warm rosemary tomato sauce and we devoured them within minutes! Of course, I did make sure to snap a couple quick pics first!

Tonight for dinner: Pizza with Thai Peanut Sauce.

