8 Miles and a Delicious Feast

Yesterday’s long run was a HUGE success. I ran 8.25 miles (that’s about 13 and a quarter kilometers), in approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes. I’m so proud of myself :D. I didn’t push too hard, paced myself very effectively, and as a result felt really great throughout the run… and afterward I was not pooped, just energized! I made sure to stretch really well before and after to avoid any sort of injury or shin splints. It made a big difference in comparison to my last outdoor run. I think I forgot how extra important it is, when running outdoors, to warm up my muscles before I start – but you can’t blame me, I haven’t been running outdoors all winter!

8 Mile Route with Elevation Information

The route was really beautiful, the weather was gorgeous (just a wee bit of rain at the very start), and there were tons of other runners, bikers and walkers out and about. The run took me all along the Victoria waterfront, where the views were absolutely stunning. I hit downtown briefly, passing by the Parliament building, the Empress Hotel, and then whizzed along the wharf. Can’t get much better than that.

I made sure to fuel my body effectively before and after the run to ensure that I had the energy to both complete my run and recover as quickly as possible. For breakfast, I had a home-made english muffin topped with a good slather of peanut butter and strawberry jam (that I made with fresh picked strawberries this past summer), a GIANT bosc pear, and some blackberry yogurt. I sipped on a huge mug of green tea to finish it off. I let my stomach settle for about and hour and then was off for my run.

Immediately following my run, I downed a “GU Recovery Brew” packet, dissolved in a giant bottle of cold water. It’s packed with protein, carbs and essential vitamins and minerals, not to mention some serious calories.

For lunch, I made myself a hummus-veg sandwich on whole grain bread – a thick helping of hummus, arugula, marbled cheese, tomato, avocado, red onion, and some pickle. Yum! Quick, luscious and delicious! I also munched on some dried apricots and quenched my thirst with a crisp glass of milk.

On to dinner – the most important meal of this particular day, because Sunday was “Feast Day.” Every week to two weeks, I try to plan a day that I cook a gourmet, usually three-course, dinner. Yesterday was one of these wonderful days and I had a BLAST spending the majority of the afternoon in the kitchen. I shared the meal with my roommate and a very lucky friend of ours ;).

Our guest bought a delicious bottle of Okanagan Valley Reisling (my FAV type of wine!). It was so crisp and wonderful, not too sweet, and paired beautifully with the meal! This is what we ate…


Carrot Bisque with Banana and Coconut Milk to start. I saw this recipe on Foodgawker and thought it would be fun to try! It turned out really well, with just a subtle hint of banana flavour. Super surprisingly wonderful! The recipe can be found here.


The main was Feta Stuffed Peppers with bulgur wheat. I modified a recipe from The Vegetarian Student Cookbook, adding chickpeas and dried cranberries (instead of raisins). It was really really yummy.


To finish off the night, we had Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Salted Peanut Butter Filling from the cookbook Whoopie Pies. They were to die for. Yum, I LOVE whoopie pies!

It was a very successful day – a great run, lots of cooking and baking, and some awesome eats! I’m already starting to think about what I’ll make for the next feast! Mmmm, I’ve got so many ideas!

Anyways, it’s a gorgeous day and I don’t start work until 2:30, so I better get a move on and make something of it! Bye bye for now!

PS: A quick shout out to my LOVELY roommate, cousin and BEST friend in the whole wide world – CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR ACCEPTANCE! You’re such a hard worker and I’m so proud of you! Vancouver, here we come! 😀

