Sweet Potato & Arugula Gnocchi in Rosemary Butter Sauce

Before I, yet again, tell you about my spectacular meal last night, I thought I’d share a bit of an update on my training progress (Drew, this is for you). So, week two has been going well. It’s been a bit tougher than last week, though. I’ve started to incorporate outdoor runs into my routine. Up until this point, I’ve been training at the gym, on a treadmill. They’re quite different experiences. Outside you’ve got the wind, the weather, the hills, etc. You’ve also got the fresh air, the sunshine, and the gorgeous views to distract you (at least here in Victoria we do). It’s going to take me a couple weeks to get used to it again. I need to work on pacing myself, because I’ve realized that without a speed controller like the one that comes with running on a treadmill, in comparison I tend to run much faster when I’m outdoors. I’ve been trying to tackle that problem by focusing more on my pace and not pushing myself too hard, especially at the beginning of my runs. I’ll start quite slow and build up to a comfortable speed as I warm up. I’m heading to the gym this morning, but tomorrow I’ll be running an 8 miler outside. I plan on documenting my day on the blog, so expect that report on Monday or Tuesday!

By the way, in case any of you are interested, I’ve compiled my training plan into a grid/calendar so that you can see exactly what it is that I have been up to and am working towards!

Anyways, lets move on to some more important business… Last night for dinner I made probably my absolute favourite dish to prepare… Gnocchi. And holy moly it was GOOD! I kind of used a recipe from a cookbook called Vegie Food (yes, it is spelled with just one G on the cover). I mostly just winged it though, using ingredients that were readily available, and what I thought would be tasty! What I LOVE about gnocchi is that you can whip up a large batch, freeze the leftovers and use as you desire them for weeks to come! Below is my recipe, and some delectable pics!

Sweet Potato & Arugula Gnocchi

Makes: About 6 servings

1 large sweet potato
1 medium russet potato
1/3 cup fresh grated parmesan cheese
1 cup finely chopped arugula
1 clove garlic, crushed
salt and pepper to taste
1 2/3 all purpose flour

Boil the potatoes in their skin until tender. Drain and, when cool enough to handle, peel and mash in a large bowl.

Add the parmesan, arugula, garlic, salt & pepper. Mix well.


Add the flour and bring together, using your hands at the end, into a soft dough ball. Do not overwork the dough.


Portion into bite-sized pillows. You can use the back of a fork to roll them into the traditional gnocchi shape, if you’d like. Freeze what you are not planning on using.

To serve the gnocchi, boil them in a large pot of well-salted water until they rise to the surface (about 2 minutes – or more from frozen).

For dinner last night, I prepared the gnocchi with a simple rosemary butter sauce by melting about 2 tablespoons of butter in a pan over medium heat. Then I added a teaspoon of finely chopped rosemary and tossed about 2 cups (for 2 servings) of boiled gnocchi into it, heating through for just a minute or so longer. Serve immediately with some freshly shaved parmasen sprinkled on top.

I’m telling you – IT WAS SO GOOD!! Soft, fluffy, buttery and just amazing. Definitely one of my very favourite meals. Now, go try it out for yourself! It will change your life.

