Fried Rice Pyramids

Last night’s dinner was a great success! I made a Yellow Curry Fried Rice from an authentic Thai cookbook called May Kaidee’s Thai Vegetarian & Vegan Cookbook. Boy oh boy was it tasty! So simple, but full of flavor and super yummy!

As always, I made some changes to the original recipe in order to utilize what we have stocked in our pantry and to make use of the veggies that were already hanging out in the fridge. I also replaced the teaspoon of sugar with a half teaspoon of agave nectar and doubled the veggies to make it extra scrumptious and nutritious! Lastly, the recipe called for a vegetarian sausage cut into small pieces. Instead, I used two spicy veggie dogs that we had leftover in the freezer. Bellow are some photo’s of the food, and you can find my revised recipe at the end of this post!

There is something you should know about me before we continue, however… I cannot, for the life of me, cook a fluffy pot of rice. I don’t know what it is. I can beat an egg to perfect stiff peaks, I can julienne a carrot, I’ve even mastered the art of boiling pasta to al dente, but I can NOT cook rice. So, of course, I was nervous to take on the daunting task this time round (I usually just ask my roommate to do the rice, while I prepare the rest of the meal). But last night I thought maybe, just maybe, this time I’ll do it right. Well, boy was I wrong. I ended up burning the living crap out of it and had to start from scratch. The second batch, which I literally checked on every 3 minutes to make sure it was not over-cooking, turned out better, but was definitely not perfect, in fact it ended up slightly under-cooked. Ugh.

Anyways, in the end, it all worked out and my roommate and I had a lovely dinner!





Yellow Curry Fried Rice

Servings: 2-3

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 carrot, diced
1 cup broccoli, chopped into small pieces
1/3 cup onion, diced
1-2 roma tomatoes, diced
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp chili powder
1 small clove garlic
1/2 tsp agave nectar
1 Tbsp tamari
1 tsp ground pepper
2 veggie-dogs (precooked), sliced
2 cups cooked brown rice

In a hot wok, over high heat, add the oil, then the carrots, broccoli and onion. Cook for a couple minutes, stirring almost constantly to ensure it does not burn. When the veggies begin to soften (after about 5-8 minutes), add the tomato, curry powder, chili powder, and garlic. Heat through for another minute or so, taking care not to burn the garlic. Yuck, burnt garlic is gross. Toss in the rest of the ingredients and cook until everything is heated through (approx 3-5 minutes). Et voila! If you happen to have some fresh herbs, such as parsley or cilantro, sprinkle on top as a garnish, eat and enjoy!

