Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins, YUM!


I just got back from an OH-MY-GOD-DELICIOUS dinner at a restaurant in the Empress Hotel here in Victoria. It’s called the Bengal Lounge, and I have been absolutely dying to go here for a really long time! So, when my grandparents – who are currently visiting – asked if I’d like to go with them this week for dinner, I of course jumped at the opportunity! I wish I could have taken photo’s, but it seemed inappropriate at the time.. but let me just tell you how so totally scrumptious and om-nom-nom tasty the meal was! We started out with a fresh baked bread roll basked, which came with a little bowl of those adorable butter balls! Loved it! Then we were given some munchies to snack on – spiced mixed nuts and other assorted crunchy yummy bits and bites. For my main, I ordered Panko Breaded Stuffed Eggplant Ratatouille with Brie and a side Green Salad with Smoked Tomato Vinaigrette. I was so please, it was all just so friggin’ good. I can’t get over it.

We had a glass of wine and admired the view from my grandparents hotel room before we headed over to the restaurant for dinner. I got a shot of the beautiful Parliament building all lit up for the evening. More importantly, however, my grandmas friend, Johnathan the Seagull, was hanging out on the railing of the balcony and smiled quite nicely for the shot.

I made sure, as I always do, to utilize this special occasion to do some baking! As a thank-you for my grandparent’s kind invitation, I baked some Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins. They turned out beautifully!

These muffins are great because they’re 100% whole wheat, which always gets me excited. But they still taste wonderful, are fluffy and light, and they definitely pack quite a punch in the flavor department. They’re full of goodness – oats, applesauce, & cinnamon! Yum! I am OBSESSED with muffins. I eat them at least four times a week for breakfast. And I like large muffins, none of that sad, puny muffin nonsense. The original recipe yields 12, but I made 9 from the same sized batch.


Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins

Yield: 9 large muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup milk
1/2 cup unsweet­ened applesauce
2 egg whites, lightly beaten
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. bak­ing soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 – 1/2 cup golden raisins

Topping:
crushed pecans or other nut
granulated sugar
old fashioned rolled oats

In a medium sized Tupperware container, combine the oats and milk. Cover and let soak in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a 12-cup muffin pan for 9 muffins (fill the empty cups with boiling water just before you place it in the oven).

Add the applesauce and eggs to the soaked oats. In a large bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add the wet mix to the dry mix and stir until just combined – do not over mix! Carefully fold in the raisins.

Scoop batter with a 1/3 cup measure into the prepared cups. Top each muffin with a small sprinkling of the pecans, oats and sugar before baking them in the preheated oven for approximately 25 minutes (until a toothpick stuck into the middle comes out clean).

Enjoy slathered in butter (or peanut butter, yum!), with a large bowl of fruit salad, and a great big mug of tea – for breakfast any day (or everyday) of the week!

