Chocolate-Cranberry Ricotta Cookies

Oh my gosh. You have NO idea how amazing this recipe is until you try it out for yourself. So, whip up a batch as soon as possible – they’re super simple and oh so decadent!

I’m not going to waste your time with a lot of blabber today, but I will give you a quick explanation (not that you ever NEED a reason) for today’s baking extravaganza. As I mentioned in my previous post, my grandparents are in town for a month. So, yesterday I stopped by there hotel – which, by the way, has an absolutely GORGEOUS view of the harbor front and the beautiful Victoria parliament building. Anyways, I decided it would be nice to bring along a little treat as a welcome to the city. I’ll use any excuse to bake. Hence, these Chocolate-Cranberry Ricotta Cookies. I found a recipe here for Ricotta Chocolate Chip Cookies, but decided to add a little pizazz to my batch, so below is my version of the recipe. Try experimenting with different fillings (maybe different dried fruits or nuts).

Chocolate-Cranberry Ricotta Cookies:

Makes about 30 cookies

1 cup ricotta cheese
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup white chocolate chips/chunks
1/2 cup dried cranberries

In a large bowl, beat together the ricotta, butter and sugars until slightly fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla extract, mixing until well combined.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and baking soda, onto a sheet of parchment paper, then add it to the wet mix, with the salt, and stir until just combined. Fold in the two types of chocolate and the dried cranberries. Do not over mix. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and freeze for 20 to 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Once chilled, scoop the dough in heaping tablespoons onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, until the edges are lightly browned. I’d suggest letting them cool a couple minutes before eating, but who am I kidding, cookies are ALWAYS best straight from the oven!! Yum in my tum!

I wish you all a lovely day! I’m going to leave you with a little gem that I recently discovered. This is such a gorgeous song – How amazing would it be to see her live in concert!!? I would die.

