Freezing Cold, But Still Truckin’

I arrived back in Victoria late Wednesday night to find a foot of snow on the ground, ice frozen over the sidewalks, and more fluffy white stuff falling from the sky. I thought I’d left this weather behind when I said goodbye to Toronto earlier that day. Ugh, it’s just my luck. Something you should know about me is that I HATE the cold. It makes me absolutely crazy, miserable, and grumpy. Hence, my move to Victoria (with the supposedly warmest winters in Canada). I think not. Anyways, this is what I woke up to on Thursday morning:

So not cool.

Anyways, I had plans to head to the gym in the morning, and I wasn’t about to let the awful weather get in my way; So I packed my bag, bundled up in several layers of clothing, wrapped a giant scarf around my neck, gloved my hands, and was off. I was actually kind of looking forward to my workout – I’ve been really enjoying my runs lately. And, to be honest, I love the gym. I find it so energizing to be surrounded by other active people – it pumps me up! Plus, the cardio machines at the Goodlife that I go to all have personal TV’s! Hello, how sweet is that? Funny story though, I often don’t even watch TV while I run. I prefer to blast my iPod and sing along to the music (silently of course, and only when no one is looking in my direction). Nevertheless, I feel special to be a member there. Anyways, I ended up having probably one of my best treadmill runs ever – got a fabulous runners high, and felt as though I could have kept going forever. I can’t wait to start enjoying some outdoor jogs, though, when the weather gets a little nicer… I have a feeling that’s not going to be as soon as I’d hoped though. Boo.

I dream of summer every single day during the winter. Lounging at the cottage, sipping on cool drinks by the pool, and munching on juicy seasonal summer fruit. Oh my, this is driving me mad to reminisce about. Lets move on…

In order to bring some food into this post, I’d like to tell you a little bit about one of my favourite restaurants – Fresh. It is located in Toronto, Ontario. There are (so far) three locations. They serve fabulous vegetarian cuisine, and luscious desserts. Yum! The last time I ate there (just this past weekend, with my mom and sister – I make sure to go at least once every time I’m back at home), this is what we had…

Special of the Week: “Number 88” – a coconut curry “Pho” style rice noodle soup.

The “Beach” Fresh Bowl on brown basmati rice with grilled red pepper, zucchini & sweet potato with avocado, sun-dried tomato, sunflower sprouts, olive oil, tamari, lemon and mixed herbs, and topped with goat cheese!

“Macro Greens” on brown basmati rice, with steamed kale, bok choy, swiss chard, broccoli, sweet potato & grilled tomato with bean sprouts, topped off with coconut curry sauce.

We started the meal off with “Quinoa Battered Onion Rings” with “Miso Gravy” dipping sauce. And, as always, I finished my meal with dessert – a chocolate chunck cookie to go! Everything, of course, was so very tasty and full of flavor – super de-lish! I already can’t wait to go back!

Anyways, I’d better get my day started – I think I might do some baking, then I’m visiting the grandparents who are in town for a month, and I’m off to work this afternoon. No workout today – Fridays are my “rest day” – I’ve got to let my body recover in preparation for my 6-miler this Sunday!

