Ooey Gooey S’Mores

As previously mentioned, before heading up to my cottage a few weeks ago, I prepared cinnamon graham crackers and raspberry lemonade marshmallows. I’ve always wanted to make homemade s’mores from scratch to cook over the campfire. They turned out to be quite the success – super messy and sticky, which is the best part about this yummy specialty snack!

I was feeling particularly inspired one day, so I hopped online and hunted down a couple blog recipes, by means of my forever-favourite site, foodgawker. With just a quick perusal around, I came across two fabulous gems:

First, these Cinnamon Graham Crackers, from the Cherry Tea Cakes Blog.

… Not quite as pretty as the originals, but still fairly delicate and cute, my crackers turned out very nicely, if I do say so myself.

I followed this recipe, from Couldn’t Be Parve Blog, for the most delectable Raspberry Lemonade Marshmallows EVER! And they were surprisingly simple to whip up!

With it all done and cooled down, I packed everything up nice and neatly, and we were off to the cottage the following morning.

I experimented with them in the microwave, by melting the chocolate onto the graham cracker first, then adding the marshmallow after. They were fabulous and looked so pretty!

But – of course – we also made them (more than once) over the open flames of a campfire, the way real s’mores lovers do it. They were a lot more sticky and messy, and so much more fun!

Mmmmm, good times at the cottage. So sad that I won’t be back up there for another year!! :(

